Why I Am Catholic

If you have not already gathered it from the posts on this site, you will soon discover (from future posts I intend to write), that I am a Catholic. As one of my favourite writers once wrote;

“It is impossible, I hope, for any Catholic to write any book on any subject…without showing that he is a Catholic.” – G. K. Chesterton, The Everlasting Man (1925)

While I am not writing a book, I am still writing, writing about my own life and experiences. And Catholicism plays a big part in them. In fact, I would say that it plays the biggest part of all. For Catholicism is not simply some a set of rules and dogmas, but a world view, a way of life.

However, like G. K. Chesterton, I believe that;

“The difficulty of explaining “why I am Catholic” is that there are ten thousand reasons all amounting to one reason; that Catholicism is true.” – G. K. Chesterton, Why I Am Catholic, from Twelve Modern Apostles and Their Creeds (1926)

It is my hope to explain some of those many reasons through this blog. Here I will offer but a brief summary.

I am what some would refer to as a “cradle Catholic”. This means that I was brought up a Catholic in a Catholic family. “Ah, so you’re a Catholic because of what your parents have told you,” you might say. Well, that is true in part, but it would be incorrect to think that I have embraced stories told to me as a child, and never looked back; that I have never questioned or doubted them and simply accepted them without question.; that I have only remained a Catholic so that my family was not disappointed.

It is my opinion that one should not hold to a particular world-view without being able to offer an account for it, an explanation as to why we hold it – and that goes for those of no faith too. The view we hold of the world, the lens we see everything through effects the way we interact with others; the very way we live our lives. It makes sense to me that we should be able to explain it, at least in a simple way.

I am not a Catholic because my parents want me to be; I am not  a Catholic because it  makes me feel good all the time and lets me do whatever I want (it doesn’t); I am not  a Catholic because it will make me popular (I know it won’t); I am a Catholic because I am convinced that Catholicism is true. What convinces me of this? Many things; history, reason, music and art, other Catholics (particularly saints), and the very existence of the Church to name a few. What do I mean by these examples…you’ll have to keep reading to find out.

In the meantime, why not check out G. K. Chesterton’s article; Why I Am Catholic

stpeters_pd

Leave a Reply

